“Things We Learned About Hawaii From Hawaii Five-0” Episode 10, Hao Kanaka

Alex o'Loughin as Steve McGarrett, Hawaii Five-0 Episode 10 Hao Kanaka

CBS

Reading way too hard between the lines…

I know I watched way too much Lost because I watch Hawaii Five-0 the way I watched Lost.  When McG gave his address as 2727 Pi`ikoi last week, Captain Hardcore, Yous Truly, searched for it in google, thinking there’s some hidden meaning or importance to it.  But no, there isn’t.  That address doesn’t exist, and I need to run my brain in a lower gear to watch Hawaii Five-0.  I just need to enjoy the sun and bikinis like everyone else.  In fact, there’s so much skin time that I tend to ignore the dialog and retranslate everything in my mind, because I am still looking for a deeper, second meaning…

Episode 10, Hao Kanaka
Scene: Cut to Pier 20, Honolulu Harbor, Five-0 team looking down into the water.
Kono: Anyone up for a swim? [Oh gawd I gotta strip down to a bikini.  Again!]
Chin Ho: I forgot to bring my board shorts.  [No one wants to see me strip down 😦   Maybe there’s a broken computer I can fix!]
Danno: Looks like the rookie is going swimming!  [Hell yeah I want to see Kono in a bikini!  Again!]
McG: I’ll go in with you. [Guys, I’m required to be shirtless once every other episode, by contract.]
Danno: That’s very nice of you! [You show off.  But I still look good in my my tight, fitted shirts.]
McG: You sure you don’t want to go for a swim? [Yeah that’s right buddy. You want to arm wrestle?]
Danno: You go ahead with your pants, I’ll be here with a dry towel. [Jerk.]

I have a feeling this dialog reveals the meaning of the red Champion tool box, but I’m still trying to figure it out.  Maybe the polar bears know.

And now, “Things We Learned About Hawaii From Hawaii Five-0” Episode 10, Hao Kanaka
1)  We have the most pathetic Iron Man triathalon.  The start at Magic Island finishes a 100 yards later at the other end of the island, and is then followed by a 2 mile bike ride down the street.  That’s the magic of Hollywood!

2)  Cops here don’t allow silly things like probable cause or search warrants stop them from investigating.

3)  We are so behind on the times, we still use Gavin’s List to buy, sell, look for jobs and find casual encounters.  I heard you people on the mainland use something called Craig’s List?

Did you notice…

Kono talks about the “mauka” side of the street.  Mauka in Hawaiian is a directional reference of something that is in the direction of the mountains.  The opposite is “makai” or in the direction of the ocean.  Hawaiians had no concept of compasses.

Kono mentions passing the Moana Surfrider Hotel.  It’s one of the oldest hotels at the end of Waikiki.

Danno mentions at the end going to “Sidestreet”.  He’s talking about Sidestreet Inn, a local restaurant that serves great local food.  The restaurant was founded by a few of Hawaii’s top gourmet chefs who wanted to have a more casual restaurant.

“Hao kanaka” is Hawaiian for “iron man”, referring to McGarrett’s awesomely huge muscles.

McG has lost THREE phones…his iphone went overboard when Graham tossed it over the Mighty Mo.  The second iphone was hacked by Bullfrog, and the third disappeared temporarily in a Samoan abyss.

About officer808

Investigating Hawaii Five-0 from the inside.
This entry was posted in Things We Learned About Hawaii From Hawaii 5-0 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Things We Learned About Hawaii From Hawaii Five-0” Episode 10, Hao Kanaka

  1. spotted reptile says:

    I’m pretty sure the OR McGarrett lived on 2085 Ala Wai Blvd in an apartment which had a lanai overlooking the canal. The 404 Pi’ikoi St address must have been very early on in production if so.

    Danny also lived at the end of Kapiolani Park if I recall correctly?

  2. officer808 says:

    You’re digging deep for that info! I’d have to look it up to verify that. Those are actual address…2085 Ala Wai Blvd is still there. 404 Pi`ikoi was knocked down years ago, and a high rise was put there about 10 years ago. I’m pretty sure that building was only commercial space though.

    I dont know where the original Danno lived, but the new Danno seems to have an apartment in Waikiki, which makes sense, since his daughter and ex-wife live in nearby Kahala.

  3. officer808 says:

    no mention of Danno’s address, but the experts at http://www.mjq.net/fiveo/fiveofaq.htm say:

    What was Steve McGarrett’s home address?
    In early episodes, 404 Piikoi Street. This is an actual address, though it is not in a residential area. In fact, it is across the street from the Ala Moana Shopping Center, and was the location of a business called “Records Hawaii.” Since their departure some years ago, a number of businesses came and went in that building which was torn town and replaced by part of a skyscraper complex. Back when the show was being produced, this address was the administrative/production office for Five-O. That’s where they’d meet every morning before going to work at the studio or on location. The building that is there now is not the same building that was there then. In ‘V’ For Vashon: the Father, McGarrett is living at 2085 Ala Wai Blvd., which is a real apartment building.

Leave a Reply

