Talking Story with Mike Buck on AM 830 KHVH Honolulu Talk Radio (Hawaii Five-0 podcast Feb 15)

On the radio

Here’s audio of my Hawaii Five-0 talk story session with Mike Buck yesterday on AM 830 KHVH.  We talked about the storyline, the scenery, “Mr. Aloha” and Tongan pirates, and Hawaii’s crime problems.

Officer 808 on the Mike Buck Show, February 15, 2011 for “Powa Maka Moana”, Part 1

Officer 808 on the Mike Buck Show, February 15, 2011 for “Powa Maka Moana,” Part 2

About officer808

Investigating Hawaii Five-0 from the inside.
This entry was posted in Audio podcasts. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Talking Story with Mike Buck on AM 830 KHVH Honolulu Talk Radio (Hawaii Five-0 podcast Feb 15)

  1. hawaiiobsessed says:

    Thanks for posting this! Still bummed I missed out on your other ones. Why did he call you Ryan? I know it is Mike’s show but I really wish he would let you talk more!!!
    Hawaii Five-O is my favorite show and your blog is my favorite blog about my favorite show! Yours really is the best! I love Hawaii and I love hearing your take (and reading your take) on the show etc. and what is real and what is not. You offer a good service to all the mainlanders who love this show and don’t “get” all the particular to Hawaii references ( which are part of what make this show so unique and special).

  2. officer808 says:

    I am deeply, deeply, undercover 😉

    • Val says:

      Oh boy I’m slow – finally got the right media player to work so that I could finally listen to the radio chat and its just awesome. Now the piece that I found fascinating was the scene on the yacht where Susan gives a description of what she saw – didn’t quite pick up on that one..and I thought it was odd that she could so easily give a description of the weapon that they used the AK-47’s!! Definitely the newspaper sank her!! Great radio discussion.

      • Val says:

        Going back to the comment that I made before in the part 1 part of your discussion… its really true they may not have tweaked at first but when it became really clear that it was a frame up job they could have brought her in for questioning again about her description….huh….good catch!!

      • Cecile says:

        yes, when looking at the guns’ images, I thought “hey, they kind of all look the same”. She was pretty sure it was an AK-47, though she (supposedly) only got a glimpse at it.

        Again, thanks Bob/Ryan/Jason (maybe we’ll know the truth one day !), it was very interesting, as always. We’re very grateful for you insights on the show itself, and on Hawaii (that’s what first drew me to your awesome blog !).

  3. officer808 says:

    Thanks all for your kind words, I’m glad you enjoy what I’ m sharing about Hawaii! …and send all your friends here too! 😉

    Warmest Regards,
    Richard

  4. Merry Blue says:

    I have to say, “Bob”, and not in a facetious or fillipant way, that I’m saddened that people are concerned that Hawai’i is not a safe place simply because they watch fictional entertainment on tv. I would really like to think that there are not many people out there who are so fundamentally ignorant or frankly stupid.

    No place, home or abroad is “safe”. But in terms of tourist destinations, I would certainly feed safer in Hawai’i (including Honolulu) than at, say, an all-inclusive in Mexico, Dominican Republic or Jamaica (to name a few), or in NYC and many other mainland big cities.

    I thought the scene with “Mr. Aloha” was one of the highlights of the episode. The acting was top notch, the touches of humour were great, and even the lighting – the blue vs the golden tones that were used on other parts of the episode – made it a stand-out. The justifications Saloni gave for his crimes are heard in most parts of the world from people in most levels of society and employment. Entitlement. It’s a mind-set that has cropped up three times, at least, in the series so far. If your agents do some research, there may be more examples to find. The other two I recall are:
    “Bullfrog” – the former SEAL security contractor, who want to finally get properly paid for his skills after all those years apparently undervalued by the military.
    “Commander Hale” – Coast Guard officer whose country “owes him” .

    Most people have probably also heard it from co-workers who are filching time or bits of stationary from the company, or from those $50K/yr college students who think that payment of tuition equals a grade of A, regardless of the amount of time and effort expended. Maybe I’m just getting old, but I’m hearing it more often. And it’s universal, it’s not unique to Hawai’i or certain ethnic groups.

    Anyway, I just bought a couple of Hawai’i travel books, in case I do have the opportunity for a winter break-away in the future. I’m not that easily scared off. And thanks to you I now know of the Visitor Aloha Society of Hawai’i. 🙂

    • officer808 says:

      You’re right…it’s tough to see people who we hold in high regard such as police officers, or military members commit crimes, but thankfully Hawaii Five-0 is just a TV show. No one can argue that each profession or job has its on share of rotten apples.

      The one thing beyond our (locals) control is the rest of the world’s perception of what Hawaii is, based on the show. But based on the amount of email that I receive, people are flocking to Hawaii *because* of the show. Thankfully, people are just taking Five-0 for what it is…entertainment.

Leave a Reply

