Talking Story with Mike Buck on AM 830 KHVH Honolulu Talk Radio (Hawaii Five-0 podcast Apr 12)

Here’s audio of my Hawaii Five-0 talk story session with Mike Buck yesterday on AM 830 KHVH.  We gave a run down of the episode, talked about the scenery of the episode, ratings, Chin’s and Kono’s car scene, P. Diddy coming up next week, spoilery finale talk, and Daniel Dae Kim’s tweet up.

Officer 808 on the Mike Buck Show, April 12, 2011, for “Ma Ke Kahakai” (25:06)

About officer808

Investigating Hawaii Five-0 from the inside.
This entry was posted in Audio podcasts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Talking Story with Mike Buck on AM 830 KHVH Honolulu Talk Radio (Hawaii Five-0 podcast Apr 12)

  1. Cécile says:

    How am I supposed to work when you keep feeding us with such treats Officer ?! Thanks.

  2. Cécile says:

    One of the things that make H50 appealing to me is that beautiful surroundings you have. But it’s not only beautiful, it’s looks warm, and natural, and wide open. The scenery has been compared to CSI Miami a lot, because of the palm trees, colors, aerial views and all, but I think it’s very different (other than orange/red for Miami vs blue/green for Hawaii). The few times I’ve catched CSI Miami, even with the stunning water color, or beautiful mansions, or wild swamps, I feel trapped, and it all looks like a big cliché : brainless bimbos partying till dawn, Caine and his sunglasses…

    I’m not sure I’m clear, but when I see Hawaii in H50, it feels less like a tv show, and more like a great place to be. The show does a great job promoting the Islands, and making us want to come and enjoy all of it !

    (not saying there aren’t any clichés in H50, but they’re less annoying, to me anyway !)

    • textbook says:

      You are perfectly clear, Cécile – and perfectly right. This is just like way back when the original H50 was on, and Magnum. The islands were reason enough to watch the show.

  3. Cécile says:

    Oh, I forgot to add this link , about DVR ratings. H50 is holding the record for most DVRed show so far, for the whole season. To the 9.1 mil ‘live’ viewers of last night, you can add 3.27 mil DVR viewers.
    Maybe a new time slot for next year would improve the live viewers, and please the ad people ?

  4. Kimmer says:

    Another great radio appearance, Officer! You gt my vote for undercover agent of the year.

    The ratings for H50 were adjusted up after lowering Castle due to DWTStars going into the next hour. Yay H50! And you are correct, the advertisers should hang in there, whether I actually pay attention to the ads or not, I am seeing them 4 or 5 times a week when I re-watch on DVR (granted I am fast fwd-ing, but I get the drift of the product).

  5. Lynn says:

    The only reason for Castle’s rating is it’s lead in, DWTS. ABC runs DWTS a minute or 2 into Castle, keeping viewers with ABC into the 10:00 hour. H50 beat Castle before DWTS started.

    Add on H50’s amazing DVR ratings and I think it’s doing extremely well.

    • Kimmer says:

      That’s why the ratings get adjusted after the overnight rating releases. They take that 1 minute of DWTS viewership away from Castle.

  6. hawaiiobsessed says:

    great job as always Officer Bob! I was kind of confused about why Chin would handle the whole taking the fall for his uncle like he did but I appreciated your comment about the generational Asian family thing. Makes more sense now.
    Re: what cast member gets knocked off: not the car…nooooo!!!! Hee hee. Good one. Hawaii Five 0 presented by volkswagon! errrr. not.
    You guys scooped tvguide. How awesome are you?!?!
    Thanks so much for posting the podcast. love listening!

  7. Val says:

    Wow very cool discussion officer 808 – lots to look forward to – was really hoping for more of a hint on who really ends up leaving the show. Interesting thought about the car sponsorship dropping off – so our favorite camaro dies – funny how attached we have become of the car so I don’t think its the car – I still think its either Kelly or Jean Smart? Definitely doubt its Kono, and noooo not Kamekona either. We are so fond of his character so please not him either…lol.

    So now we are all left to keep guessing till May 16th!!!

  8. officer808 says:

    Thanks all for tuning in. Mike gets a big kick out of how many of you folks listen! The reference to the Kia commerical is that the local Kia dealership here runs a really annoying commercial with hamsters, that I really just don’t understand.

    And yeah I still think it’s pretty cool we pounced on the scoop faster than TVguide. 🙂

    • textbook says:

      I dig that commercial. But then I dig little furry animals with little pink noses. They make me laugh. (The commercial’s saying, “You can get with this cool Kia, or you can get with this other lame form of transportation” – like the cardboard box where the two hamsters trip over themselves.)

      • BigBraddah says:

        Not that one, Textbook. Commercial referenced is a locally produced spot with guys in cheap hamster costumes and it is annoying.

  9. Dee says:

    Officer 808 please help…
    I was totally engrossed in the radio show but once you went to break- there was nothing else???( a commerical or so then end of data???) I am being tormented by Peter L with all his pics and “hints” but now the one place I think I will have info- I am left hanging???!!! 🙂 Can you post another link for the podcast? When the podcast downloaded it only showed “a halfpoint” shoulda known something was amiss!

    • officer808 says:

      I think it was a production miscue on his end. He started talking before he hit the “on air” switch, and we were a few seconds into the convo. We were referring to Peter Lenkov’s announcement the week before. Check out the Podcast page for the interview.

Leave a Reply

