New juicy Hawaii Five-0 season 2 tidbits from Peter Lenkov (mildly spoilery)

zap2it writer Rick Porter spoke to Hawaii Five-0 executive producer Peter Lenkov at PitchCon today and got some juicy teasers for Hawaii Five-0 season 2.

“I’m really excited because there are some major surprises — there’s one in the first episode of the season.”

“When we broke the story, we also broke the resolution. … So we were writing the finale, and also writing the first episode of Season 2 at almost the same time,” he says. “In order to put [characters] in those kinds of situations, you have to know the endgame. You can’t just put it in and then paint yourself into a corner and think, How do I get them out? But we had all these really strong ideas of what we wanted to do in Season 2, and a lot of it is based on how we leave them at the end of Season 1.”

“There is a resolution at the end of 201, but we still keep a big part of it open. So the team is sort of back together, not really. There are some dynamics that have changed in how they’re going to move forward. There’s also a new governor who’s not going to be as lenient as the last governor [Jean Smart], because the last governor had an agenda. …

“We’re adding another character to the task force. Nobody knows that yet, but I’m telling you — we’re adding another [member] to this task force. And I’m really excited because there are some major surprises — there’s one in the first episode of the season that I’m hoping is as shocking as the governor being bad. We think it is, but we’re hoping [the audience thinks] it’s amazing, oh my god, I can’t believe they did that. So I’m looking forward to that. And there’s a domino effect to those kinds of things. Those things end up paying off. There’s going to be a love interest for one of our characters. And actually we have a really great arc for Kono [Grace Park] that starts at the beginning of the year, which we’re excited about because it really gives her a lot of meat.”

“The last governor gave them full immunity and means, but that was just because she wanted to make McGarrett [Alex O’Loughlin] happy, and she was keeping an eye on him. I think the new governor is sort of more realistic and is going to draw the line — he may give them jurisdiction, but maybe not the immunity and means they had last season. The idea is maybe he’s going to be a little more strict with them.”

“We’re just sort of making lists of people [for the new governor]. Ideally for us … we’d want to cast somebody local from the island.”

“I think we wanted to explore the other islands, and I think we just never got the chance [in Season 1]. We’re going to do that this year. … We have these little ambitions, and that’s one of them. Because it’s Hawaii Five-0 and not Oahu Five-0, they can go to the other islands. And ultimately we want to explore off the islands. It’s a task force, and the idea is there are no real boundaries for them.”

Ok so let’s break this down…

The team *sort of* gets back together in the first episode of season 2 which is good news for the team… Chin Ho and Danny are probably integral to springing Steve and Kono from prison legally (or possibly otherwise…?).

There’s a new member added to the team?  I got two words for you.  Well one letter and one word: P. Diddy.  😉  Is that even a possibility?  Anyone got any thoughts on the possible new member?  I thought Jenna Kaye was the “fifth” member.  Are we looking at adding a sixth?  Or does he mean Masi Oka as Max Bergman as the new Five-0 who was recently announced as being a regular cast member.

I think it’s very ambitious for Peter to shoot on neighbor islands…each island has unique characteristics that make Hawaii spectacular…the Big Island’s volcanos and Haleakala on Maui to name a couple.

Hawaii needs a new governor!  My first recommendation would be to cast Danny Devito as the lieutenant governor who inherits Governor Jameson’s position.

Hawaii's real governor, Neil Abercrombie poses with Five-0 cast, photo by Ed Morita.

But hey, if Peter wants to cast local, I respectfully submit my resume.

Looks like Grace Park will finally get to shine a lot more in season 2.  On top of that her romance with Charlie Fong may develop.  I’m guessing however that Peter is specifically talking about Chin and Malia’s storyline being developed in the second season.

Hawaii Five-0 season 2 is sounding better and better!  September isn’t coming fast enough!

About officer808

Investigating Hawaii Five-0 from the inside.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to New juicy Hawaii Five-0 season 2 tidbits from Peter Lenkov (mildly spoilery)

  1. lainiek says:

    Does Josh Holloway still like in Hawaii? Still pulling for him to be on the show- maybe not as Gov though- but hey – whatever way we can get him. 😉 Seriously, though, I think it would be great to have a local actor play the new Gov. I love how H50 is introducing new talent to us each week. 🙂 Season 2 seems to be shaping up already and I can’t wait!

  2. joe keagy says:

    your gonna make a great govornor braddah

  3. Lisa E says:

    I think keeping Jenna Kaye on as a regular is a brilliant idea. I think Larisa fits in with everyone else pretty good. Hey, maybe the newest member is Kamekono. That would rock!!!

    As for candidates for the new Governor? I think you would make an excellent Governor, brah. Otherwise, I’m thinking someone Who could be ex Marine or ex Navy.

  4. ooh. I am so excited to see how this plays out. 🙂

  5. Mr. Mike says:

    WHAT? There will be surprises in the next season?!? NO!!!! You could have knocked me over with a feather! (LOL)

    Seriously (?), I think the new Governor will also be a woman, and her name will be Philippa Grey. Fans of the old show will know what I am talking about.

    As far as the Governor becoming more strict, disbanding Five-0 and/or restricting their all-encompassing powers is concerned, this has already been dealt with by the writing team of C/H/Q Paper Products in the “next season” episodes Powa and Mihi:

    http://www.mjq.net/fiveo/2010-log2.htm#powa
    http://www.mjq.net/fiveo/2010-log2.htm#mihi

  6. Linda Stein says:

    Wow.. you churned this one out fast Bob!! Thanks to Peter and you for giving us something to chew on. This summer is already lasting too long!

    But why would Peter say that no one knows they are adding another member? We know about Jenna. We know about Max and we know about Charlie. Could the new governor “assign” a liaison to the task force after they are re-formed? I don’t like that idea..I don’t like the idea of a new person we haven’t ever met. I’d prefer it be Jenna to that!

    There will be a love interest. Chin and Malia…could very well be. He’s obviously ready to start to live his life again. He was thinking about asking Laura out. Maybe it’s time to revisit Malia now that the cloud has been lifted from his life. I’m hoping for Kono and Charlie. He’s cute, I’d like to see more of him. God knows there aren’t enough good looking guys on this show!

    I’m looking forward to seeing the weekly postcard of Hawaii expanded. Oahu is stunning. I know the other islands are too. Can’t wait to see them more.

  7. jlopie (Lynnette) says:

    “Governor Undercover!” Nice ring to it, brah! Sounds like Peter is up to his old tricks! Feeding us tidbits of “Oh my God, I can’t believe they did that” proportions! I love it! Can’t wait for more! S2 sounds so good already!

  8. Amy says:

    Ooooooooooh, Officer 808 for GOVERNOR! 😉

  9. Elissa says:

    I love the idea that you should be cast as governor! I am excited about Max being a full cast member and I hope Charlie becomes one too! However, I am so hoping they get rid of Jenna Kaye. I do not care for her character at all and I am not fond of her acting ability either. If they keep her, I hope they change up her character, but that won’t solve my disdain for her acting. My ADD kicks in everytime she comes on screen. I am so excited for Season 2, I thnk many good things await!! 🙂

  10. Linda Stein says:

    I still can’t make up my mind about Jenna. I would prefer she not be there but she doesn’t really turn me off completely either. I kinda understand the reasoning behind a 5th team member. If it gets Kono and Chin out from behind that desk more that’s a good thing in my book. And I’d rather it be Jenna then some random person we just meet in S1E1 who, all of a sudden, is just there. At least I’m used to Jenna now.

    I don’t know. She seems to bring out such strong emotions from both sides. I just hope she’s not part of the “love interest”. It’s too soon for that.

  11. Benito says:

    alrite! season 2 can’t wait. Finally a story about kono, i feel that her character is not fully develop. while chin, danny and steve all hav sumthing. Can wait for sept to come best thing will happen then

  12. Sam says:

    Well I do have complete confidence that P. Lenkov does know what he is doing. They did a great job with season one.

    And I’m really open to changes, just as long as McGarrett is still the head of Five-0 and Danny is still there. Do not change the pair of the decade!

    Love interest? Well ok, but not for McGarrett, still hoping for Cath to come back, and please do not involve the team member with each other. That’s all I’m asking.

    As what it means “the team is sort of back together” I hope they just mean that Chin is a bit longer with HPD before he joins them again. Do not destroy the team dynamic with a new command order, which would just be stupid.

    As for Island hopping, well that would be great. They can show us even more spectacular views and it might give us the chance to see McG in a helicopter again, or on a boat.

    But you know what? I really can’t wait to see what they have in mind for us, I just love that show. So summer hurry along and let’s get a start on the new season.

  13. Sam says:

    Almost forgot. PLEASE no P.Diddy, can’t stand that guy and think he was not that good anyway. Keep Jenna, she is great, she is really good for the team.

    • Elissa says:

      Could you tell why you like Jenna’s char and why you think she is great and good for the team? I haven’t seen too many people actually like her char and I just wonder if I am missing something about her! I don’t care for her and would like to know what someone on the other side thinks! 🙂

  14. Diana says:

    Well, I am going to be a dissenting view on the 5th member being Jenna and say NO! NO! ans NO way in Hades!! If it isn’t Charlie or Max, both of who I think would be great additions to the team then bring in an actor , preferably a female, who can at least hold their own in scenes with our Fab Four and not drag the scenes down. Honestly, the actress who played the Female FBI agent in the P.Diddy episode was a much stronger in their performance than the actress that is portraying Jenna Kaye. It is nothing personal against Larisa Olenyk, but I just don’t think that this was the right part for her to be casted into. JMHO. 🙂

    As for the new Governor, I almost think is going to have be an alpha male, who has some type of military experience, in order to have enough backbone to be able to rein in Steve. Plus, it would lead to some great conflict between the two of them, as they figure out how much control each of them really have and where each other’s line in the sand is.

  15. Cécile says:

    I have the unpleasant feeling that Jenna’s the fifth member, and I sure don’t like it. The character in itself doesn’t bother me, but the actress does, I hate the way she talks. I’m sorry for her, but she just makes me cringe…
    Please, no P. Diddy on a regular basis…Once in a while is enough !

    I’m glad we’ll see more of Kono, I looking forward to see this.

  16. hawaiiobsessed says:

    Yay! Can’t wait! Thanks for scoop Officer. Peter kept saying”he” for the gov but then he kind of acted as if they hadn’t cast the gov yet. hmm. Gonna be good I am sure!

  17. Bert Hayling says:

    Richard Burgi for Governor! 😀

    Hey, he lived on Oahu when CBS/Rysher/Diamond P were producing One West Waikiki (1994-95), he returned to Oahu to get married a couple years after OWW wrapped production, he’s remained good friends with a number of Oahu residents including Tom Moffatt (of Uncle Tom’s Gabbin’ )… he’s played a governor on Lie To Me, he can play good or bad guys, can pull off the ex-military bearing when necessary… I’d vote for him. 😉

    Very cool (and I’m very glad) to hear that Peter & Co treated Oia’i’o and the S2 premiere as essentially one two-hour story — best way to avoid any unexpected roadblocks and painting into corners, as this was definitely a high-stakes nightmare for the team that shouldn’t just be handwaved away. Knowing the plot ‘tools’ are already in hand to dismantle the cases and situations erected like a gallows under Steve’s feet especially — definitely good news. 🙂

    Really looking forward to seeing how things play out, and especially looking forward to teasers, spoilers, twitpics and TBS goodness when production cranks back up next month! (And how cool is it to be saying *that*?) 😀

  18. sockie says:

    I would also vote for Charlie to be the fifth member. I really liked him. Jenna, not so much. She was a little bit better in the last two episodes than in her first, but I really don’t think she is the right character for the team. And she is entirely too much of a Mary Sue.

    And having a stricter gov will lead to some good conflict. Although, I am still sad they made Jameson bad. I really liked Jean Smart.

  19. Cherish4 says:

    Wow, Peter sure knows how to just say enough to get us all speculating and yet leaves us even more impatient for Season 2. Damn him and his teasing ways! LOL

  20. five o fan says:

    lots to resolve. hawaii five o in newark? so, kill off rachel and grace? resolve chin ho/danny rift? replace governor? wo fat/ steve issues? amazing just how passionate fans feel about a t v show. just proves that lenkow and his team are master story tellers. thanks to all involved for such fun and entertainment.

  21. Merry Blue says:

    Well, there is a real ex-governor who is looking to restart his acting career – he could be Jameson’s replacement. His first action with respect to the newly reinstated 5-0 is to appoint former IA Sgt. Cage (Jon Seda) to the task force as his liason in charge of approving all of 5-0’s “special ops”. Danny will be taxed to the limit between trying to save his relationship with Rachel and trying to prevent Steve from killing Cage; he will spend the season teetering on the edge of a nervous breakdown and spouting snarky banter. Mary Ann McGarrett will return from LA to spring her brother out of jail. She and Jenna hook up to play Nancy and George and save Steve and solve the rest of the Champ box mysteries, and their working partnership evolves into the afore-mentioned romantic relationship. Meanwhile, Max is renovating his morgue to accomodate his increased workload and has installed special card locks on the doors to keep Jenna from dropping in to set up bench space and tell him how to do his job. Charlie gets a whole lab to himself, outfitted with GC-HPLC-MS-whatever for advanced gasoline and chemical weapons analysis, a Level 4 containment lab for the biological warfare agents, and a mini-table computer for retrieving deleted files from iPhones and running the advanced handwriting analysis app. Despite his expanded work responsibilities, Charlie is miserably pining for his incarcerated Kono, who – caught up in her very own story arc – now barely registers his existance.

    The happy ending to this mess is that Steve succeeds not only in killing Cage, but also the new Governor and Officer Bob steps in to become the new-new Governor. Gov. Bob pardons Steve and restores his full immunity and means and beer fridge and mayhem as usual is restored. (Of course, Danny still has to recover enough from the breakdown to be released from hospital, that that should provide lots of snarky bromantic banter.)

  22. kiley says:

    I hope the new cast member is not P Diddy. I’m sorry but watching him in that one episode was painful…cannot act. He needs to stick to his music career, fashion business, or whatever he does. I really don’t care for Jenna, but I think I can stomach her on an occasional basis. I also feel the new governor (whoever it may be) is going to really rein 5-0 in (should be interesting to see how that plays out with McGarrett). Also, very interested to see how the whole Danny/Rachel storyline plays out too. I think there is so much more to Rachel, and even Stan, and could involve the SHOCKER OMG moment that Peter is talking about. Love interest could involve Kono and Charlie, which would be nice. So looking forward to Season 2!

    • Merry Blue says:

      Yeah, Stan, Rachel and Danny….. How ’bout this: Danny returns to his apartment after an exhausting night trying to get answers (and lawyers) at HPD headquarters only to be arrested a short while later by HPD for Stan’s murder. Meanwhile, the Feds are waiting for Rachel’s plane to land in Newark to arrest her on the same charge. Poor Grace will be hauled off by Family and Children’s Services (or whatever they have in NJ) until GrandPop Williams can spring her.

      How much fun can we have playing with Peter’s hints? 🙂

  23. Lee says:

    I have an idea for the first script of the season. Firstly, background music – the Beatles Help. Opening: we see a man who could be Sang Min. He is sitting in a chair, facing the ocean. A man, dressed in shorts and t-shirt, walks up quietly behind him and puts a bullet in his head. As the man in the chair slumps over, he drops his cell phone. The shooter picks up the cell phone.
    Next scene: Danno is seen getting off a plane from Newark. He has a suite to either side. He is shown to a sedan and they drive off.
    Next scene: Jenna is seen with Chin Ho late at night in an parking lot. Chin Ho gives her an envelope containing the transcripts from McGarrett’s phone and the Govenor’s phone. Don’t forget we did not see the entire erase on the Govener’s phone. Jenna gets into her car and is stopped by a black sedan. She is put in the sedan and driven off.
    Next scene: A windowless office. Jenna is in one room, Danno in another. The shooter appears. He actually works for Russian intelligence and is there to broker a deal. The Russians want Victor Hesse as Heesse supplied the rebels in Chechnya with weapons and bombs. The CIA is questioning Danno and Jenna separately hoping that a deal can be reached to turn Hesse over to the Russians. Danno says “you’ll get nothing until I know who framed McGarrett.”

    Things to know: Was it Sang Men who got shot? We won’t know. Hopefully the cell phone will lead to Hesse. The CIA’s involvement will open the character of Hawai’i politics. Did Gov Jameson inheret the mess and corruption? If so, how deep did it go? After all, the Yakuza has been around for a while.

  24. Pingback: Season 2 teases from EP Peter Lenkov interview on Zap2it | Hawaii In Vermont

  25. dizzylucy says:

    I can’t wait for Season 2!
    But NOOOOOO more P.Diddy. Please. Please!
    I would be good with Charlie joining the task force, and am glad to hear that Max will be a regular character. But I’m not a fan of Jenna – the character just doesn’t fit in with the rest of them, I think, and to be honest I don’t care for the way the actress portrays her either. I don’t know why they feel they need a 5th member anyway, surely Kono and Chin could use more screen time too.

  26. Helen says:

    yeh i do completley agree, P diddy is a heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelllllllllllllll no!, to stomach turning for me, far too much ego in that guy & he reminds me of a five year old with the way he stands, a 5 yo with bad attitude. wont be able to watch hawaii 50 with him on there, and i liked how there was no imunity etc with #H50 task force, it felt really good for everyone to have their but’s busted and into prison……………………wish reall life was that way

Leave a Reply

